The Bar Association of Baltimore City presents the Government & Public Interest Lawyer of the Year award to a nominee who:

1) Selflessly serve the public good as a government or public interest lawyer
2) Excels in furthering the agency’s goals.

This award is presented at the Annual Government & Public Interest Reception. For more information, CLICK HERE to download the nomination form, or e-mail us at

Past Award Recipients

2006        Cheryl K. Jacobs

2007        Valda G. Ricks

2008        Virginia A. Hierholz

2009        Mark P. Cohen – posthumously

2010        Jennifer Etheridge

2011        Otelia Lynch Davis

2012        Natalie A. Finegar

2013        Elva E. Tillman

2014        Sidney A. Butcher

2015        Sara E. Gross

2016        Glenn T. Marrow

2017        Zina Makar

2018        Natasha Dartigue

2019        Lauren Young

2020        Kurt Heinrich

2021        Ryan Dietrich

2022        Amy Hennen

2023        Viola Woolums

2024        Amy Petkovsek